Saint Ignatius High School

Celebrating Excellence in the Class of 2023

At their graduation from Saint Ignatius High School on Sunday, May 28, several seniors were recognized with special awards and honors given for outstanding achievement, service, and dedication to their Alma Mater. Congratulations to all graduates!
Graduation is a time of recognition for all seniors, marking the completion of a rigorous course of study, fulfillment of special requirements like Sophomore Service and multiple prayer and retreat programs, as well as the recognition that the young man who receives his diploma has grown, matured and is prepared for adult life.
On Sunday, May 28, as part of the graduation for the Saint Ignatius High School Class of 2023, several seniors were presented with special awards highlighting their remarkable achievements and contributions to the life of the school.
Hans Engel ’23 earned the highest honor given to a member of the graduating class, the Brendan Carey Award. For four years, Hans was active in service programs around campus and become well-known for his inclusive and inviting nature, witty sense of humor, thoughtful interactions with students and faculty alike, and devotion to his faith. From Friends with L'arche to Spring into Action to being a Labre Leader, Hans did it all. And he did is selflessly, humbly and wholeheartly, all for His greater glory. 
This year’s Valedictorian was Alex Merheb ’23, former student senate president who is headed to Harvard in the fall.  Merheb was involved in all aspects of campus, immesing himself to fully understand the student body and community he was leading. Alex was a Labre Student Leader, Student Senate President,  involved in National Honors Society and of course excelled in the classroom. In his valedictory address, he reminded his classmates of the many challenges they overcame together and to continue to push for change and making our world a better place. 
Additional honors were presented to the following students:
The Conor J. Murphy Bellringer Award is given to students who have been instrumental in leadership and school spirit. Four graduates received the award this year:
Alex Merheb
Jose Figueroa
Will Robinson
Pedro Villa-Forte
Additionally, five students were presented with the Jesuits Schools Network special recognition:
Owen Anderson
Owen Czyzynski
Roman Lucarelli
Jack Masters
Justin Ortega
Congratulations to this outstanding senior class, and thank you for all you have given to Saint Ignatius High School!