Education is Essential

COVID-19 has presented a tremendous challenge for Saint Ignatius High School to balance our mission of providing an academically rigorous, Catholic, Jesuit education along with the health and safety recommendations of leading healthcare experts. On Monday, March 15, students returned to full-day, in-person learning.

Saint Ignatius High School

The Honorable John V. Corrigan '38 Distinguished Alumnus Award

The Honorable John V. Corrigan '38 Distinguished Alumnus Award is given to an individual who has distinguished himself in his career and has exemplified being a "Man for Others."

In 1994, the Saint Ignatius Alumni Association inaugurated the Distinguished Alumnus Award. In 2005, this award was renamed to pay tribute to one of its own distinguished recipients, the late Hon. John V. Corrigan ’38. The award honors an alumnus who:

  • has distinguished himself through outstanding achievements in his chosen field or profession

  • uses his talents and skills for those in need, consistent with the theme, “Men for Others”

  • serves as a positive role model for Saint Ignatius High School students through consistent application of high moral and ethical standards and service to the school.

Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

Lt. Gen. Thomas P. Carney '59*
Gerald F. Schroer, Jr. '82
2019 Dr. Brian G. Skotko '97
Neil P. Smith '76
Michael H. Thaman '82
Oliver F. Luck '78
Anthony J. Hyland '90
Frederick D. DiSanto '80
Dick Russ Hlabse '71
Robert M. Mooney '64
Duane A. Drotar '70
Larry J. Dolan '50
Peter A. Carfagna '71
Rev. Jim Gartland, S.J., '76
The Hon. Harry Hanna '57
Fred M. DeGrandis '68
Karl J. Ertle '79
Rev. John J. Cregan '53*
George F. Wasmer '50
Lt. Gen. John T. Myers '53
Terrence E. Sauvain '58
Thomas J. Bader '46*
Rev. Howard J. Gray, S.J., '48*
James E. Rohr '66
George Samenuk '73*
Rev. Thomas S. Acker, S.J., '47
David J. Citino, Ph.D., '65*
Noel A. Clark, Ph.D. '58
Rev. Robert J. Welsh, S.J., '54*
Patrick J. McDonnell '50
The Hon. Leo M. Spellacy '52
Dr. Charles M. Geschke '56*
James O’Neill '47*
Dominic Ozanne '71
Rev. Timothy P. Broglio, JCD, '70
James L. Callinan '78
Thomas Driscoll '48*
The Hon. John V. Corrigan '38*
Kenneth L. Woodward '53
John J. Corrigan '70
Rev. Timothy T. Shannon, S.J., '70
Donald P. Traci '44*
James C. Boland '58
Matt J. Likavec, M.D, '66
Michael J. Cleary '52*
Maj. Gen. Robert R. Ivany '65
William M. Malley '49*
Alex C. Guira, M.D., '54
The Hon. Peter M. Sikora '70*
Rev. Thomas E. Gafney, S.J., '50*
John C. Laschinger, M.D., '72
Paul F. McManamon, Ph.D., '64
Thomas M. O’Donnell '54*
Paul J. Lammermeier '57
Michael F. Pennock, Ph.D., '64*
Andrew E. Szucs '64
Robert W. Van Auken '54
  • Frederick R. Nance '71

    With a long track record of civic and professional leadership in the Cleveland area, Fred has been recognized with numerous awards. He is currently Global Managing Partner at Squire Patton Boggs and on the Board of Directors for the Cleveland Clinic. “It’s really gratifying to know I’ve had the opportunity to make my hometown a better place – more prosperous, more inclusive, more dynamic,” says Fred. “But it’s a job that’s never done.”

  • Brian G. Skotko, M.D. '97

    Educated at Harvard Medical School and Harvard Kennedy School, Brian is currently a medical geneticist and the Emma Campbell Endowed Chair on Down Syndrome at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston. He leads a team of 20 multidisciplinary professionals providing evidence-based clinical care, education, and research to help individuals with Down syndrome reach their full potential.