Saint Ignatius High School

Athletic Hall of Fame

The Athletic Hall of Fame recognizes members of the Ignatius community who have excelled in one or more sports and who have distinguished themselves and the school in their athletic endeavors while a student or coach at Saint Ignatius High School.
Saint Ignatius Athletic Hall of Fame recipients are chosen based on a level of excellence in a particular sport (e.g. captain, team MVP, all district, all Ohio, etc.), especially as it relates to other teammates and the level of competition during the candidate's era. Consideration is also given to candidates who participated in multiple sports during their careers, even if their level of success varied in those sports. Finally, the committee attempts to select candidates that result in a class of inductees that appropriately represent the broad range of sports at Saint Ignatius High School.

Past Athletic Hall of Fame Honorees


Eric Pfaff '81
Matt Roggenburk '86
Chris Della Vella '96
Steve Kemmerling '97


Mike Sweeney ’78
John Spellacy ’85
Drew Haddad ’96
Anthony Kelly ’99
Anthony Gonzalez ’03


Chris Dowling '67
Dean Lamirand '93
Greg Moviel '03


Mark A. Buddie '85
Peter G. Fitzpatrick '90
Ryan M. Franzinger '02


Dale Gabor '66
David Gresky '00
Patrick Massey '01


James B. Schram '51
Brian J. Becker '77
Le'Charles V. Bentley '98


Timothy J. Gauntner '59
Daniel J. Stefancin '77
Daniel E. O'Leary '96


Martin J. Wise '77
Todd Minnier '00
David L. Maier '01


Jim Jensen '77
Jim Callinan '78
Joe Rey '92
Jonathan Gannon '01
Marc Sylvester '01


Donald Mack '52*
David Mack '67
Joseph Bryan '87
Matthew Kata '96
Patrick Kelly '96
David Ragone '98


Terence P. Hayes '54
Frank J. Jancura '63
William R. Koehler '83
Lev W. Holubec '85
Patrick J. Kennedy '88
Joseph A. Lewandowski '92
Raymond P. Ardire '93
Raymond A. Weeden '94


Paul D. Nemec ‘57
Patrick L. George ‘73
Timothy J. Culver ‘74
Michael J. Trivisonno ‘81
Kevin Ginley ‘85
Matthew K. Schlessman ‘93
Eric Haddad ‘94
Scott M. Mutryn ‘94


William J. Coyne ‘53
Michael Soeder ‘72
Timothy W. Ryan ‘80
Michael McLaughlin ‘85
Kevin J. Cook ‘ 86
Barry E. Alvis ‘89
Jeffrey Drabik ‘91
Jonathan H. Vaughn ’93


Hon. Francis E. Sweeney '52*
Gregory J. Knittel '67*
Thomas G. Abood '74
Fredrick D. DiSanto '80
John Morell '81
Shawn S. Finnan '84
Michael J. Svets '87
Joseph C. Pickens '90
Mark S. Ruddy '90
Trent A. Zenkewicz '91


Neil M. Huber '57*
James D. Bunsey '65
Thomas F. Kennedy '68
Daniel L. Werner '68
John Shimko '80
Michael J. Buddie '89


Henry J. Erhardt '33*
Fred George*
Mark R. Schmitz '71
John C. Arbeznik '75
Albert M. Musca '81
Michael N. Huber '84


Edward P. Lonjak '43*
Leo "Skip" Weithman '49*
Edward J. Musbach '58*
Bernard J. Weber '75
Richard N. Hartman '85


Ralph M. Bush '27*
Paul Schmucker '27*
Raymond J. McGorray '35*
John Rattay '46*
Raymond C. Kubacki '63
Thomas E. Furlong '64
Donal R. Ross '64
Daniel A. Ginley '65
Kenneth R. Yantek '71


Edward J. Baloga '33*
Richard J. Zunt '50*
1964 Football Team
Frank J. Gusich '68*
Daniel T. McCrone '69*
Michael P. Roberts '71
Kevin R. Czinger '77
Aubrey "Ab" Strosnider*


Eugene Stringer '21*
John V. Corrigan '38*
Patrick W. Gallagher '60*
Timothy C. Pell '64
Roger A. Andrachik '74
Oliver F. Luck '78


Rev. James O'Brien '22*
John Stavole '54
J. Michael Hegan '60*
Steven M. Huntz '63
Timothy D. Vala '76


Thomas J. Cleary '41*
Robert J. Kilfoyle '46*
Rev. Michael J. Lavelle, S.J. '53*
Fred J. Oblak '58*
Kenneth O. LaVergne '58*


Msgr. Richard Walsh '19*
Ralph Vince*
Thomas P. Forrestal '54
Garry E. Roggenburk '58
James A. Grace '65


Francis "Speed" Gaul '25*
Leonard E. Brickman '26*
William J. Young '36*
Thomas J. Lobe '46*
James S. Dilling '48*
David Demko '52*
Richard "Smoke" Walsh '53*
Brian J. Dowling '65
Rev. William A. Sullivan, S.J.*
John J. Wirtz*


  • Mike Sweeney '78

    In his freshman year at Saint Ignatius, 115 boys tried out for the freshman basketball team. Mike was one of 15 who made it. Coached by Tom Flandera ’63, he describes “a spirited group who played together and played hard.” In a 19-1 season, Mike earned a reputation as an “inside guy,” taking floor burns and doing whatever it took to win.

  • John Spellacy '85

    Sports have always been important to John Spellacy ’85. “I’m a big believer that sports can teach you so many lessons. Whether you’re the best kid on the team or not, it doesn’t matter. In football, everyone is important, everyone has a role -- whether you’re on the practice squad or the star quarterback.”

  • Drew Haddad '96

    Drew became one of Saint Ignatius football’s main offensive weapons as a wide receiver and kick returner on teams that won three State titles and two National Championships. In his four-year career, they had only one loss, with a record of 41-1. He still considers his Saint Ignatius senior year championships the greatest accomplishments of his life in sports. “It was all about the journey – the friendships and bonds on that team.”

  • Anthony Kelly '99

    Anthony’s first love was hockey. He played on junior teams and during all four years at Saint Ignatius. As a sophomore, he was on the state Final Four squad and was team MVP his senior year. But it was on the lacrosse field where Anthony made his mark under Coach Ed Aghajanian, who started the school’s program in 1986. As a junior, Anthony led the Lax Cats to an Ohio High School Lacrosse Association Final Four, was team captain and MVP his senior year, and earned 1st team All-Ohio and 1st team All-Midwest accolades as a midfielder.

  • Anthony Gonzalez '03

    At Saint Ignatius he excelled in both track and football, where he was a stand-out wide receiver and defensive back. He is most proud of the Wildcats’ 2001 state title his junior year. “Our team overcame a lot, almost missing playoffs and being written off. We rallied around captain Ryan Franzinger ’02 and had an incredible run, culminating in the title win against Cincinnati Xavier. I learned a lot about great leadership and how to be a team player.”